A Primate’s Memoir: A Neuroscientist’s Unconventional Life Among the Baboons

32,00 лв.

In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey, Robert Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.

“I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,” writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist’s coming-of-age in remote Africa.

An exhilarating account of Sapolsky’s twenty-one-year study of a troop of rambunctious baboons in Kenya, A Primate’s Memoir interweaves serious scientific observations with wry commentary about the challenges and pleasures of living in the wilds of the Serengeti—for man and beast alike. Over two decades, Sapolsky survives culinary atrocities, gunpoint encounters, and a surreal kidnapping, while witnessing the encroachment of the tourist mentality on the farthest vestiges of unspoiled Africa. As he conducts unprecedented physiological research on wild primates, he becomes evermore enamored of his subjects—unique and compelling characters in their own right—and he returns to them summer after summer, until tragedy finally prevents him.

By turns hilarious and poignant, A Primate’s Memoir is a magnum opus from one of our foremost science writers.

1 налични (може да бъде поръчан и преди запълване на наличност)

Код: 9780743202411 Категория:

Описание

Доставка и плащане

Може да направите поръчка само с наложен платеж.

Книгите налични на склад могат да се доставят за 3-9 работни дни. За тези на предварителна продажба сроковете варират – свържете се с нас за допълнителна информация или след поръчка ние ще ви потърсим на оставения телефон за контакт.

Допълнителна информация

Страници

304

Корица

Мека

Език

Английски

Тема

Биология, Зоология, Генетика, Еволюция

Автор

Robert Sapolski

Издателство

Scribner Book Company